Paueru MashUp Dance

Onibana Taiko and Company 605 have integrated classic Powell Street Festival sounds and gestures, namely borrowing from the traditional Tanko Bushi dance and Radio Taiso morning exercises, to create a fun and accessible collective line dance. This 3.5 minute piece will suit participants of all ages and experiences.

Paueru Mashup Dance - Online Lessons April 22 - May 27

Paueru Mashup Across Canada

Greetings,

Courtesy of the 45th Powell Street Festival, we would like to invite everyone across the country to learn the Paueru Mashup, a taiko flashmob work that encapsulates the festival!  It’s a community dance that we can all learn and perform together one day!  Learn the dance online   and videotape yourself, then we will edit everyone into a video that will premiere at the festival.   Online dance lessons start on Thursday, April 22 – May 27.

Lesson time in different time zones across Canada:

(5-6pm PDT, 6-7pm MDT, 7-8pm CDT, 8-9pm EDT, 9-10pm ADT, and 9:30-10:30pm NDT) 

Book your free lessons (register) online at Eventbrite.

https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/paueru-mashup-dance-online-lessons-tickets-150836721695

Itching to move your body? Learn the Paueru Mashup, a taiko flashmob (inspired by Le Grand Continental)/community dance drawing on elements of Radio Taiso and Tanko Bushi, with a soundscape of sumo, omikoshi, martial arts, taiko, and Godzilla – a sonic mosaic of Powell Street Festival! 

Commissioned by the Powell Street Festival Society with music created by Onibana Taiko and movements by Company 605, this high-energy dance is accessible for all ages and abilities across the country. No dance experience necessary! We’ll have skilled dance instructors walking you through the movements as you learn from the comfort of your own home.These are iterative lessons, so we encourage you to sign up for all the lessons so you can learn a new portion of the dance each week. Follow-up projects include a live performance and video, so let’s dance!

More Mashup videos from last year and info found on this Powell Street Festival site.

https://powellstreetfestival.com/paueru-mashup-dance/

 

カナダ中に広げよう、パウエル・マッシュアップ

(日本文化を感じる今風のコミュニテー・ダンス)

カナダ中の皆様、お元気ですか?

第45回パウエル祭がおとどけするフラッシュモブ・ダンスに参加してみませんか? 祭りの心を太鼓にのせたコミュニティー・ダンス 、パウエル・マッシュアップを踊りましょう。オンラインで、一緒に振り付けを学び、それぞれが自分をビデオに撮り、それらをとりまとめて編集することで、フェスティバルで初公開されるビデオを作成します。

オンライン・ダンス・レッスンは、4月22日から5月27日まで、毎週木曜日に行われます。

タイムゾーンが太平洋夏時間(PDT)の方は午後5時から午後6時 まで。それ以外のタイムゾーンの方は、午後6-7時 MDT(山岳部)、午後7-8時 CDT(中部)、午後8-9時 EDT(東部)、午後9-10時 ADT(大西洋)、午後9:30-10:30 NDT(ニューファンドランド)です。

以下のEventbriteのリンクから、無料レッスンをオンライン予約(Register)してください。

https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/paueru-mashup-dance-online-lessons-tickets-150836721695

体を動かしたくてうずうずしていませんか? ラジオ体操と炭坑節の要素を取り入れたこの太鼓フラッシュモブを学びましょう。パウエル・マッシュアップは、ル・グラン・コンチネンタルに触発されたコミュニティー・ダンスであり、相撲、神輿、武道、太鼓、ゴジラなどのパウエル祭を感じさせる音をモザイクにしています。

パウエル祭協会がプロデュースした、鬼花太鼓の音とCompany 605の振り付けによるこのエネルギッシュなダンスは、全国のあらゆる年齢層が容易に参加できる内容です。ダンスの経験は必要ありません! ダンスインストラクターが、快適なご自宅でのオンライン・レーニングをサポートします。反復レッスンになりますので、全てのレッスンに参加し、毎週新しい動きを学んでいくことをお勧めします。フォローアップ・プロジェクトとして、ビデオの作成とライブパフォーマンスを考えています。さあ、一緒に踊りましょう!

昨年のマッシュアップ動画などのパウエル祭のサイトにある情報

https://powellstreetfestival.com/paueru-mashup-dance/

読んでいただき、ありがとうございます。

くれぐれもお気をつけて。


Watch the Paueru Mashup in Action!

The Paueru MashUp LIVE at the 44th Annual Powell Street Festival Telethon

The inaugural Socially-Distanced Paueru MashUp performance video

Instructional Video for Paueru MashUp dance

Choreographer Lisa Gelley presents Paueru MashUp

Onibana Taiko
Formed in 2016,
Onibana Taiko are three veterans of Vancouver’s Taiko community, whose depth of performance and taiko experiences combine to over 100 years. The group is comprised of Eileen Kage, Noriko Kobayashi and Leslie Komori. Onibana Taiko’s performances and presentations draw on traditional Japanese folk rituals, such as minyo and matsuri, and combine them with its member’s unique and varied experiences as Nikkei settlers. With roots in radical feminist punk and political activism, Onibana Taiko aims to empower various communities, including QTIBIPOC, Nikkei and Asian Diaspora. They would like to acknowledge that they are settlers of Japanese ancestry who are privileged to live and work on the unceded territories Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), Stó:lō and Səl̓ílwətaʔ/Selilwitulh (Tsleil-Waututh) and xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) peoples. Through performance, Onibana Taiko seeks to re-examine and reinterpret musical and movement elements from Shinto and Buddhist ceremonies. Onibana Taiko allows audience members to commune with our ancestors via obon dance, song, sensu (fan) cheerleading, fue, shamisen and kick-ass taiko. 

Company 605
Lisa Gelley is an artist living and working on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded Indigenous territories of the Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. She is the descendant of a Third Generation Japanese Canadian Mother and a French/Polish Father. She is Artistic Co-Director of Company 605, an arts organization in Vancouver,  producing various dance projects and performances through a shared creative process. The artists place emphasis on rigorous choreographic propositions and movement invention, building physically demanding work that juxtaposes raw with precision, and highlights effort, risk, and interconnection. 605 is an ongoing exchange between separate people, bodies, and ideas, recognizing and celebrating the unique possibilities created in their attempt to co-exist. Valuing collaboration as an essential tool for new directions in dance, Company 605 continues to awaken a fresh and ever-evolving aesthetic, together building a highly athletic art form derived from the human experience. With an expanding repertoire of diverse works, the company has performed from coast to coast in over 30 cities across Canada, as well as in the US, Central America, Europe, Asia and Australia. Their collaborations with filmmakers have allowed 605’s work to be shared globally, with short dance films shown at dance-on-screen festivals around the world. www.company605.ca